It's where Bluffton gets its news!
December 4, 2020

You are here

Jonathan Schriner DIII soccer district player of the year

Reagan Mittendorf, Laykin Garmatter, Simon Derstine, Jude Spallinger, Colin Oglesbee also receive district honors

By Cort Reynolds
Senior Jonathan Schriner of Northwest Conference champion Bluffton was voted Div. III District Player of the Year by the Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association.

Schriner also was voted NWC Player of the Year after leading the Pirates to their sixth straight undefeated conference season.

Two other Pirates made first team all-district: senior Simon Derstine and junior Jude Spallinger.

Bluffton senior Collin Oglesbee was named second team all-district.

The Pirates finished 16-1-2 and were ranked first in the final NOSSCA district regular season poll. They were upset 1-0 by Riverdale in the district finals.

Bluffton junior Reagan Mittendorf was named first team all-district in Div. III girls soccer by the Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association.

Mittendorf was also named NWC Player of the Year. 

Senior teammate Laykin Garmatter earned second team all-district notice after making first team All-NWC.

The Bluffton girls won the NWC title at 6-0 and advanced to the district finals, where they lost to Liberty-Benton. On the strength of a 14-match win streak, they ended the season with a 15-3-1 record.