It's where Bluffton gets its news!
January 23, 2021

You are here

Bluffton University

Miss Ohio visits with ILR participants

Erica Gelhaus, Miss Ohio 2009, presented at the Bluffton University Institute for Learning in Retirement's (ILR) Christmas brunch, Dec. 9. She is a senior vocal performance major at Otterbein College and will compete in the Miss America pageant in January 2010.

Area seniors have several ILR class choices this winter

Bluffton University's Institute for Learning in Retirement (ILR), an educational program designed specifically for retired individuals, is offering six winter classes to continue its 19th year.

The classes, sponsored by Bluffton University and the Elderhostel Institute Network, will run Jan. 20 through Feb. 24.

The five-week winter term costs $50 and enables members to take as many of the one-and-a-half-hour courses as they wish, as well as participate in other ILR activities.

State Senator Huffman visits university students

Matt Huffman, Ohio State Representative, 4th district, visited Bluffton University on Dec. 4 to give a lecture about social work, social welfare policy and political connections.

More than 60 social work students from three different classes were encouraged to think about Huffman's word of the day: perspective.

University hosts financial aid annual meeting

Bluffton University will host more than 50 financial aid counselors from across Ohio for the annual meeting of the Ohio Association of Student Financial Aid Counselors, Tuesday, Dec. 8.

Handel's Messiah - 114th rendition Sunday in Founders

The Bluffton University music department will present the 114th rendition of Handel's Messiah at 4 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 6, in Founders Hall. This event is free and open to the public. A free-will offering will be taken.

University professor newly-elected president of Board of Dietetics

Dr. Kay Soltesz, family and consumer sciences department chair at Bluffton University, is the newly-elected president of the Ohio Board of Dietetics for 2010.

Soltesz was appointed to the board in 2006 by Governor Bob Taft for a five-year term. She will officially take office on Jan. 1, 2010.