You are here

Hancock and Wyandot students paint top plows

Mohawk FFA Chapter and Cory Rawson High School earn annual Paint-The-Plow titles

LIMA, Ohio (May 23, 2023) – The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) District 1’s annual Paint-the-Plow contest winners are Hancock County’s Cory-Rawson High School and Wyandot County’s Mohawk High School.

Mohawk High School’s FFA Chapter, located in Sycamore, collected the most votes on social media to win the people’s choice award. Mohawk votes tallied 1,616 on ODOT District 1’s Facebook page contest. The artists’ work honors Wyandot County Sheriff Deputy Daniel Kin who died following an automobile accident while on duty in December. Cory Rawson High School took second place with 603 votes, and in third place, Bluffton Middle School with 514 votes.

Cory Rawson High School’s safety message, “One Text or Call Could Wreck It All,” was voted the overall ODOT choice award winner. The selection was chosen by ODOT District 1 employees during the annual roadeo competition held on May 3. The second-place winner is Jennings High School, and the third-place winner is Crestview FFA Chapter.

Cory Rawson High School students posing with their ODOT’s choice winning plow are, (left to right) Makayla Gillfillan, Karlie Sammet, Hannah Reinhart, and Raigan Smith. The plow was voted the favorite among the employees of ODOT District 1.


“We appreciate each of the 21 schools who chose to paint a plow. We enjoy sharing their creative displays. They will be featured in fairs and parades as well as in service throughout the school’s community during snow and ice operations,” said Chris Hughes, the deputy director of ODOT District 1.

ODOT District 1 has held a Paint-the-Plow contest annually since 2014, except in 2020 and 2021. On average about 19 schools across all eight counties in District 1 participate by painting an ODOT snowplow blade with a message of school spirit, Ohio pride, patriotism, or safety.

ODOT employees from each of the district's eight county garage facilities chose their favorite entry from each county: 

Allen County: Elida High School

Defiance County: Tinora High School

Hancock County: Cory Rawson High School

Hardin County: Kenton High School

Paulding County: Wayne Trace High School

Putnam County: Jennings Local Schools

Van Wert County: Crestview FFA Chapter

Wyandot County: Mohawk FFA Chapter

All entries may be viewed on ODOT District 1's Facebook page.

ODOT District 1 services eight counties in northwest Ohio, including Allen, Defiance, Hancock, Hardin, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert, and Wyandot.