You are here

Pirate Bassett 1st team NWC; Fleece 2nd team

By Cort Reynolds

BLUFFTON – Bluffton High School senior slugger Lauren Bassett was named first team All-Northwest Conference for softball in voting conducted by the league coaches Sunday, May 12.

Bassett led the team in home runs and runs batted in.

Senior shortstop Ashley Fleece was named second team all-league.

Senior Olivia Hobensack earned honorable mention all-league honors.

Lincolnview senior pitcher Taylor Post was named NWC Player of the Year in a close vote over Ada’s Jenna Bassitt and 2023 POY, senior catcher Savana Brooks of Allen East.

The Lady Lancers lead Ada by a half-game in the standings heading to the last week. The Lancers are 7-0, while Ada is 6-0 with a showdown looming for the league lead Tuesday at Lincolnview.

Bluffton finished 1-7 and last in the NWC, and 2-12 overall. Crestview was third at 5-3.

Lancer mentor Eric Schwab was named NWC Coach of the Year by his peers.


The All-NWC 2024 softball teams:

NWC Player of the Year: Taylor Post – Lincolnview
NWC Coach of the Year: Eric Schwab – Lincolnview

1st Team
Taylor Post – Sr – Lincolnview
Savana Brooks – Sr – Allen East
Jenna Bassitt – Jr – Ada
Addysen Stevens – Sr – Lincolnview
Sydney Fackler – Sr – Lincolnview
Abby Stechschulte – Sr – Columbus Grove
Lauren Fuerst – Sr – Columbus Grove
Ashlyn Price – Jr – Lincolnview
Lauren Bassett – Sr – Bluffton
Karley Wagner – Jr – Ada
Aubrey Young – Sr – Allen East
Ava Henry – Sr – Leipsic

2nd Team
Kyrstin Moore – Sr – Delphos Jefferson
Kaylee Mollenkopf – Jr – Crestview
Ali Hermiller – Jr – Leipsic
Dakota Thornell – So – Crestview
Natilyn McClain – Jr – Ada
Lainey Spear – So – Lincolnview
Ashley Fleece – Sr – Bluffton
Tessa Griffith – Jr – Ada
Grace Brickner – Jr – Lincolnview
Carolyn Mueller – So – Delphos Jefferson

Honorable Mention
Violet Dirr – So – Crestview
Sam Hazelton – Sr – Leipsic
Quincey Baumgartner – Sr – Spencerville
Avery Rahrig – Sr – Delphos Jefferson
Erianne Heffner – So – Columbus Grove
Jade Siefker – Sr – Columbus Grove
Olivia Hobensack – Sr – Bluffton
Katie Sawmiller – Jr – Crestview
Taylor Nickles – Jr – Allen East
Dakota Dunn – So – Columbus Grove
Kaci Gregory – Fr – Crestview
Jadyn Cupp – Jr – Leipsic
Daicy Robinson – Sr – Ada
Aidra Preston – Jr – Ada
Micayah Eberle – Fr – Delphos Jefferson