It's where Bluffton gets its news!
June 1, 2020

You are here

Four Bluffton boys soccer players honored

By Cort Reynolds
DEFIANCE - The Bluffton boys soccer team had four players receive All-Northwest district Div. III honors recently in voting conducted by area coaches.

• Senior Matt Daws and junior Jonathan Schriner were each named first team all-district.
• Pirate junior Simon Derstine was voted second team all-district.
• Sophomore Jude Spallinger was voted honorable mention all-district.

The Pirates are 18-2-2 and advanced to the state final Nov. 10 in Columbus. Bluffton won the Northwest Conference title for the fifth straight season at 5-0.

Junior John Kight of top-ranked Ottawa Hills was voted player of the year.

The district awards will be presented at a special ceremony between the girls and boys senior District All-Star Game at Findlay High Schoolís Graham Field on Sunday, November 17. The boys game will start at noon.

Div. III All NW District teams:
Player, Class         School
Player of the Year

John Kight, 12        Ottawa Hills    

First Team All-District                                             
Trey Theobald, 11    Archbold
Elijah Zimmerman, 12    Archbold
Matt Daws, 12        Bluffton
Jonathon Schriner, 11    Bluffton
Dillon Sims, 12        Genoa
Gabe Hovest, 12        Kalida
Evan Roebke, 12        Kalida
Hank Thomas, 12        Maumee Valley Country Day School
Jack Zilba, 11        Maumee Valley Country Day School
Drew Hoffman, 12    Ottawa Hills
John Kight, 12        Ottawa Hills
Jack OíBrien, 12    Ottawa Hills
Drew Fisher, 12        Ottoville
Coby Miller, 12        Riverdale
Riley Hensley, 12    Swanton
Spencer Fedderke, 11    Toledo Christian
Nick McCracken, 12    Van Buren
Hunter Stone, 12    Van Buren

Second Team All-District    
Malachi Blackma, 12    Allen East
Noah Cheney, 12        Archbold
Chase Koehler, 12    Archbold
Simon Derstine, 11    Bluffton
Rhenn Armey, 9        Continental
Wyatt Davis, 10        Continental
Brayden Recker, 12    Kalida
Josiah Simpson, 12    Lima Central Catholic
Jack Zerante, 12    Lima Central Catholic
Dylan Schimmoeller, 11 Lincolnview
Cam Kaminski, 11    Maumee Valley Country Day School
Ezra Deitering, 12    Miller City
Patrick Covert, 11    New Knoxville
Scott Davis, 12        Ottawa Hills
Joe Miller, 12        Ottoville
Kolya Paschall, 11    Paulding
Quinn Wyse, 10        Pettisville
Joshua Frederick, 11    Van Buren

Honorable Mention
Jude Spallinger  10    Bluffton