It's where Bluffton gets its news!
October 28, 2020

You are here

HCAC announces sportsmanship awards

Beaver winners: Lemanski, Offenburger, Hill, Lindhorst, Nixon

Entire list posted at bottom of story -
The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) announced the Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship teams for the Spring 2020 season.

Bluffton University honorees:
Baseball - Alex Lemanski
Golf - Nick Offenburger
Softball - Megan Hill
Men's track - Michael Lindhorst
Women's track - Hope Nixon 

This is the 10-year anniversary of the HCAC All-Sportsmanship Award, named in honor of former HCAC Commissioner, Christopher M. Ragsdale who served as the Commissioner from 2009 to 2018.

In its inaugural season, the All-Sportsmanship team was recognized following each sports season, and the league has returned to this practice of honoring athletes outside of the conference championship season to elevate the focus placed on these deserving individuals.

The sportsmanship award was developed as part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative in 2009. Members of the All-HCAC Sportsmanship team are selected by the coaches and their teammates as individuals who demonstrate the ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field/court of competition.

Nominees must have demonstrated consistently the values of respect, and integrity in his or her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics.

For more information on all thing HCAC, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the HCAC's home on the internet at www.heartlandconf.org.

Be sure to stay up to date on all of your Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference news by following @HCACDIII on Twitter and by liking the "HCAC DIII" Facebook page.