It's where Bluffton gets its news!
July 24, 2021

You are here

Ada well represented in this year's Hardin Sports Hall of Fame

Isaac Spar $500 scholarship recipient • Melissa Gossard in this year's induction class

FROM ADA ICON - Isaac Spar of Ada High School and Trey Jefferies of Kenton High School are each recipients of a $500 scholarship from the Hardin County Sports Hall of Fame.

The announcement was made by Wes Davis, sports hall director, and Robert Simmons, scholarship chairperson.

The sports hall honors outstanding athletes, teams, individuals and groups who have made contributions on and off the athletic field.  

In its 10th year, the Sports Hall of Fame has donated all of the profits from the induction night ceremonies to scholarships for students in Hardin County. 

The Sports Hall of Fame has awarded 17 scholarships to date valued at $9,500.

Earlier this year, it was announced that Ada teacher and long-time volleyball coach, Melissa Gossard, will be inducted with the 2020 class of the Hardin County Sports Hall of Fame. 

She is a 1991 Hardin Northern HS graduate who was an all-Ohioan in volleyball and basketball. She finished her basketball career with 1,127 points scored.

Upon having a four-year career at Ashland University, she returned to Hardin County where she coached for 21 seasons. She is the winningest coach in Ada High School history.

Other in the induction class of 2020 are:
D. Ray Baum, Forest HS football and basketball coach
Russ Miller, 1961 Kenton HS graduate
Derek Kinnear, 1999 Kenton HS graduate
William “Billy” Young, 1923 Kenton HS graduate
Bob Walden, 1972 Hardin Northern HS graduate
1972 Hardin Northern boys’ basketball team