It's where Bluffton gets its news!
January 17, 2021

You are here

Larry Core is Lions citizen of the year

Presentation delayed due to covid-19 • Core wore many hats in Bluffton

Larry Core, former Bluffton village administrator, is the 2019 Bluffton Lions Club Citizen of the Year.

And, in this usual year of covid-19, he received his award delayed. Don Hostetler presented Core with the award last week.

Core, a life-long Bluffton resident and Bluffton High School graduate, has served in several community project and organizations, both behind the scene and as a major player.

Perhaps his greatest village accomplishment was his untiring devotion to bringing DTR (today SumiRiko Ohio) to the village.

He also played an instrumental role in assisting GROB Systems to locate in Bluffton.

Following high school, Core served four years in the U.S. Air Force before returning home to  work for the Village of Bluffton. After earning licenses in water and waste water treatment, his talents in organization led to his appointment as the first Bluffton village administrator. 

Many changing demands and requirements in state and local health standards were part of the challenges he met head on in his village roles. 

In addition to village work, Core served many years on the Bluffton Volunteer Fire Department, was instrumental in organizing the Bluffton EMS Department, and served on the advisory board of the Lima/Allen County Economic Development Council. He is also active in the Bluffton American Legion Post 382.

Core and his wife, Ellen, are parents of two daughters, Karen Core of San Francisco and Kathy Soper of Bluffton. Kathy and her husband, Tim, are parents of Madison, Mason and Carson Soper. 

Lions Citizens of the year
2019 - Larry Core
2018 - Samuel Diller
2017 - Fred Steiner
2016 - Barbara Plaugher
2015 - Oliver Lugibihl
2014 - Dennis Morrison
2013 – Richard Ramseyer
2012 – Bob and Beverly Amstutz
2011 – Elaine Harris
2010 – Jerry and Lori Lewis
2009 – Jean Muller
2008 – Maurice Fett
2007 – Dr. Howard Shelly
2006 – Richard and Margaret Weaver
2005 – Fred Rodabaugh
2004 – Richard and Betty Cookson
2003 – Ropp Triplett
2002 – Morris Groman
2001 – Jim and Jean Szabo
2000 – Don and Nancy Schweingruber
1999 – Roger Mullenhour
1998 – Richard Boehr
1997 – Wayne Matter
1996 – Jean Triplett
1995 – Helen Tschantz
1994 – Herman Hilty
1993 – Leland Lehman
1992 – Lois Rodabaugh
1991 – Earl Lehman
1990 – Howard Raid
1989 – Dr. B.W. Travis
1988 – Mary Emma Triplett
1987 – James F. West
1986 – Paul Stauffer
1985 – Forrest Steinman
1984 – Eugene Benroth
1983 – James Ehrman
1982 – A.C. Burcky
1981 – Dr. F.D. Rodabaugh