It's where Bluffton gets its news!
May 26, 2020

You are here

Bluffton Council/School Board

Beaverdam Contracting awarded Jefferson Street projects

Bids came in below engineer's estimates

Bluffton council awarded bids to Beaverdam Contracting, Inc., of Bluffton, for both Jefferson Street projects planned for this spring and summer.

Council meet in a special meeting on Monday to award the bids. Bids were opened on March 15. Jesse Blackburn, village administrator, said that the winning bids are lower than the engineer's estimate for both projects.

Engineering estimates combining both projects were listed at $1,242,264. The winning bids totaled $961,498, or $280,766 below the estimate.

Two projects were bid and all bidders are listed below:

Bluffton council getting ready to dive in the pool

Here are proposed wages and rates under consideration for 2019

Bluffton Community Swimming Pool salaries and rates legislation for 2019 is working its way through Bluffton council this month.

The first reading of the proposed legislation passed on Feb. 25. If approved, the following wages and rates will take place this year.

19 spring and fall coaching posts on Monday's board agenda

School board will also act on budget commission's general property tax report

Bluffon school board will act on a list of 19 coaching openings for this spring and next fall at Monday' school board meeting.

The list may be viewed below this story. It is also part of the boad packet attached at the bottom of the story.

Also on the agenda is approval of the Allen County budget commission's general property tax report for 2019. An additional chart below shows that information.

The chart shows that the school district will receive $4.1 million from levies outside the 10 mill limiation.

Administrator suggests to extend refuse contract 1 year

Residents will see a $3.02 monthly increase in their bill

Bluffton council has a full agenda tonight.

One topic that impacts most residents is a refuse hauling contract. A three-year contract was awarded in June 2016 to Republic Refuse. It included an option to extend the contract for one year should Bluffton approve a proposed monthly rate change.

That change jumps from the current $15.23 per month to $18.25 per month for residential refuse pick up from June 1, 2019, to May 31, 2010.

Jesse Blackburn, village administrator, will propose to accept the extension and bidding on a new refuse hauling contract in 2020.

Wesley Klinger named 2019 school board president

He was board vice president last year; Ken Lugibihl is 2019 VP

Wesley Klinger is president of the Bluffton school board for 2019. His election was made during the board’s Jan. 14 reorganization meeting. He replaces Brad Fruchey as board president.

Klinger was first elected to the school board in 2014. He holds past memberships on the Bluffton Family Recreation board and Bluffton Preschool board. He served as board vice-president in 2018.

First council meeting of 2019

New village solicitor, several committee reports, $139,450 FFA grant

It will be a busy council meeting on Monday (tonight, Jan. 14), as the village governing body meets for the first time in 2019.

A 31-page agenda is attached at the bottom of this story

Among items on the agenda include the introduction of Elliott T. Werth, as the new village solicitor. He is with the Findlay law firm of Hackenberg, Beutler, Rasmussen and Feighner.

Several committee reports are on the agenda: