It's where Bluffton gets its news!
HS Sports
June 25, 2019

You are here


Retired Bluffton police chiefs recognized

Rick Skilliter and William Gaiffe have Wall of Honor plaques

A new Bluffton tradition was established last week, recognizing retired Bluffton police officers.

Two retired Bluffton police chiefs are the first inductees to a Wall of Honor, recognizing the officers. Those inducted this year are Rick Skilliter and the late William Gaiffe.

The May 15 ceremony, took place at the newly-established wall on the second floor lobby of the police department in the town hall.


Area students on Rhodes State spring dean’s list

Rhodes State College, Lima, announces its dean’s list for the spring semester. 

To be eligible for this full-time Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours and earn a 3.5 grade point average or higher.

Full-time students:
Makenna Lynn Callahan
David Thomas James Dotson
Cory Robert Kellum
Kyli Lynn Lause
Luis German Olvera
Weston Lee Robinson


The Bluffton Story - part 6

Written by Bluffton 6th graders in 1953-54

Note: Bluffton sixth graders in the 1953-54 school year (graduating class of 1960) created a booklet titled "The Bluffton Story." The following article is part of that booklet, which is now in the history collection at the Bluffton Public Library. This series continues each week on the Icon.
By Sandra Diller and Connie Patterson
Bluffton's first post office was started in 1837 with a Daniel Gobel as postmaster. Mr. Gobel received a salary of fifteen dollars a year and mail was distributed at the post office once a month.


Bluffton High School's 2019 scholars

39th annual academic awards program held May 15

Bluffton High School's 39th annual academic awards program was May 15. The following is a list of students who received recognition at the program.


Bluffton University........................................ Mrs. Samantha Shrider

      Centennial Scholarship                                                    Tyler Niles

      Music Ensemble Scholarship                                      Caleb Mikesell

      Academic Honors with Distinction Scholarship             Caleb Mikesell


Some of the world's most famous stopped in Bluffton last week

They even gave autographs


Night at the Museum part 2 – Some of history’s most famous men and women stopped in Bluffton briefly last week. They shared some of their career high points – and low points – with an enthusiastic audience of community residents.

There was Louis XIV, Cincinnatus, Shakespeare, Johannes Guttenberg, Rosa Parks, Empress Wu, Mozart, St. Catherine of Siena and many more.


Cory-Rawson entry wins "people's choice award"

Cory-Rawson High School won the "people's choice award" in this year's ODOT District 1 annual Paint the Plow contest, announced recently.

The C-R award was decided based on social media votes. Cory-Rawson collected 654 votes in the Facebook contest.

ODOT District 1 has held a Paint the Plow contest annually since 2014. It allows high schools and vocational schools within the district’s eight-county region to paint an ODOT snowplow blade with a message of school spirit, Ohio pride, patriotism or safety.